1.23 Labor of Love

QuinnCover2***Warning! There are graphic birth pictures in this chapter. Love you guys! :)***

~Sabrina’s P.O.V~

I managed to stay bedridden until my 38th week of pregnancy. I was at the point where, I couldn’t sit up or lay down without any help. Justin had to give me a sponge bath every night. The day I made it to my 38th week, I (with some assistance) jumped out of bed, wanting to go out and about. There were a few twinges here and there, but it was nothing like before. That evening, I was in the middle of reading a bedtime story to Esther when a stronger twinge of pain pinched my spine. I grit my teeth and forced myself to finish the book. The minute Esther was in her crib, I raced downstairs and called out for Justin. I heard the door of the office open, and Justin’s voice down the hall, “Hon, did you say my name?”

I grunted as I struggled to put on my shoes, “Yes, I need you!”

He came into the living, and I could tell he was holding back laughter as I tried to reach my feet. He knelt next to me and helped me with my shoes, “Where are we going?”

I tried to answer calmly, but another contraction interrupted me, “You need to call my mom, we-oooooooh baby this is a big one-,” I panted tiredly while realization dawned on my husband. He scrambled into action, but before he went too far away, I felt the color drain from my face as I grabbed his arm, “Justin…oooooh…my water just broke.” If I hadn’t been in the middle of labor, I would have laughed at how fast he was moving.  He grabbed the stopwatch, and called my mom. He ran back to me, “Okay, so I called your mom, she’ll be here in 10 minutes. However, Dr. Sinclair wants to talk to you.”

Screenshot-423.jpgI nodded nervously, but I took the phone from Justin, “Hello?”

Dr. Sinclair’s kind voice soothed my nerves some, “Hello Sabrina. I’m going to ask you to do the hardest thing you’ve ever done, okay?”

I gulped before answering, “Okay, what do you need?”

He sighed, “Twenty minutes ago, a drunk driving a semi took out three of the lanes on the freeway. I need you to trust me when I tell you that it’ll be easier for me to get to you, than for you to get to me. Every ambulance we have available is out tending to the twenty or so people injured by the semi. If you are willing to trust me, I can deliver your babies at home.”

Fear threatened to overtake me, but I managed to squeak out, “Uhm…of course I trust you. I’ll have Justin give you our address.”

Screenshot-413I handed the phone to Justin before walking back to the living room. I buried my head in my face and sobbed. I heard soft footsteps on the stairs, so I quickly quieted and wiped my eyes. Cassidy came down the stairs, her eyes searching my face, “Mama, I thought I heard crying. Are you okay?”

I smiled, trying my best to reassure her, “Yeah, I’m alright. The babies are coming, and it’s really painful, but it means my body is doing what it’s supposed to.”

She nodded, seeming to accept this before feeling my belly. Justin walked in the room, kissing my forehead, “The doctor will be here in half an hour.”

I sighed and leaned my had back against Justin’s shoulder, “We have everything ready, right?”

He chuckled, “Yes, hon, everything is ready. Cassidy and I finished the nursery yesterday. We received tons of diapers at your shower. You just focus on laboring, okay?”

Screenshot-414My mother sat quietly on the couch, a teary smile on her face. I knelt on the ground, placing my head in her lap. She smoothed my hair and spoke softly, “The night you were born, a big blizzard had just hit the town. We were iced in our small cottage when my water broke. By the time the nearest doctor was able to make it, you were well on your way to being born. Oh my stars, you were so pink and perfect, your father was afraid to pick you up for fear that you would break. It was a perfect day….”

Her voice trailed off as tears ran down her face. I held her hand and smiled, but was silent as another contraction made its presence known. I threw my head back and moaned loudly, hoping I didn’t scare Cassidy but in too much pain to care. I turned to Justin suddenly, “Since we’re here at home, Cassidy can be a part of the experience like we wanted originally.”

He nodded slowly, “If you don’t think it’ll be too difficult, I don’t see why not.”

Justin ran upstairs to go talk to Cassidy, and I went into the kitchen to get some water. Another contraction stopped me in my tracks and I gripped the counter as the pain overwhelmed me. When it had passed, I heard a knock on the door and waddled my way over there. Dr. Sinclair gave me a hug as I let him inside. I laid on the bed, letting him check out my labor progress. He finished up aft a few minutes, “Okay, we are 7 centimeters dilated and 100% effaced. I think we’ll be ready to push in the next few hours.”

Screenshot-416I leaned back against the pillows, waiting for the next contraction to come. Dr. Sinclair sat at the foot of the bed, “Any questions for me before the exciting stuff begins?”

I shook my head and whispered, “I’m scared.”

He gave me a reassuring smile, “I think you’ve forgotten my 30 years’ experience doing exactly this.”

Justin returned downstairs, Cassidy following behind him. He set her on the bed, nearer to my head, before smiling at her, “Remember the rules?”

She nodded obediently, “It’s okay if Mama screams, don’t move off the bed, and to leave Mama alone when she’s pushing.”

I beamed at her, “Those are great rules, Cassidy, and if you feel like it’s too scary for you, Daddy or Grandma will take you back upstairs, okay?”  She nodded before laying down next to me. I sighed, thankful that it was a Friday, and it wouldn’t matter if she stayed up too long.

Screenshot-421By ten o’clock that evening, my contractions were barely a minute apart, I had finally reached ten centimeters and it was time to start pushing. I sat up, gripped my knees and I’m pretty sure I made a noise akin to a dying animal. I felt everything happening, and I do mean everything. As my body stretched, I screamed and gave one big push. Dr. Sinclair kept his hands steady and told me, “Okay, little breaths here, don’t push too hard, the head is coming.”  I gripped Justin’s hand as the baby’s head finally made it through and got the okay to push again on the next contraction. As I I pushed, I felt the rest of the baby emerge, a healthy cry echoing through the room. Justin cried out, “It’s a boy, Sabrina! We have a boy!” I cried tears of joy as he was set onto my chest.

Screenshot-422We had a few blissful moments to enjoy our baby, until the next contraction hit, this time I couldn’t stop screaming. After it had passed, I gripped Justin’s arm, calling out to the doctor, “I need you to check the baby, it feels different this time. More painful….” My voice trailed off as yet another contraction tore through me. Dr. Sinclair checked on things down there before glancing at me with a grim expression on his face, “Sabrina, whatever you do, do not push! Your baby is breech. When the  contraction passes I’m going to flip the baby.”

Screenshot-417Justin helped me move closer to the end of the bed, and I nodded, blinking back the tears that threatened to surface. When the contraction subsided, Dr. Sinclair pushed his arm inside of me, moving the baby gently back inside and I nearly passed out from the pain. I screamed so loud, I felt Cassidy startle beside me. With his free hand, Dr. Sinclair pressed on my stomach, trying to nudge the baby into the correct position. I gripped Justin’s hand and bit my lip. After a moment of tension, I felt the baby turn. I breathed a sigh of relief as Dr. Sinclair extracted his arm. Pulling off his glove, Dr. Sinclair beamed at me, “We should be back on track.”

More determined than ever, I pushed harder and harder with each contraction. After an hour of almost no progress, I pulled Justin close to me, “Get this baby out!” I began to weep, the pain overwhelming me, “I just want to be done, baby. I need a break. I can’t push anymore.”

Screenshot-415Justin was cut off by another intense contraction. I bore down, yelling as I felt the baby move closer and closer to the finish line. Dr. Sinclair put his hand on my shoulder, “Pant like a dog on this next one, Sabrina, the baby is almost here.”  I nodded and wiped my brow, preparing for the next contraction. Justin moved to sit behind me, and I laid my head back. As the next contraction came, I arched my back and panted. The baby’s head finally decided to emerge, and we all breathed a sigh of relief. With the last and final contraction, I pushed with every last ounce of strength I had. At 3 in the morning, we welcomed our second son into this world. I was too exhausted to cry, but I could not stop smiling as they were both placed on my chest.

Screenshot-419After Dr. Sinclair finished examining the babies and left, Justin, Cassidy and I snuggled on the bed, gazing at the babies. Justin placed a kiss on my forehead, “Should we tell Cassidy her brother’s names?” I nodded, holding up the little guys snuggled in the crook of my arm, “This little one, is Ryan Christopher Quinn. I nodded to the other baby who busy nursing at my breast, “This is Oliver Eric Walsh.”

Cassidy looked confused, “Why do they have different last names?”

Justin thankfully explained for me, “Mama wanted one of the babies to carry on her name, since she hasn’t been a Quinn for very long. This way we’ll have two Quinns’ and two Walsh’s.”

Screenshot-418I smiled as understanding dawned on her face, until it was masked by a huge yawn. Justin walked her upstairs, leaving me alone with the babies. I began to cry from tears of exhaustion, until Justin came back downstairs. He snuggled next to me on the bed, reaching for Oliver. I laid my head on his shoulder, whispering, “Did this just happen?” He pushed my hair behind my ear, “I have never loved you more than right now. Baby, you did so amazing.”

I smiled, but was too tired to answer. My lids were so heavy, but I couldn’t stop staring at our sons. I winced as I helped Ryan latch onto my breast, laughing as he hungrily grunted. Justin watched in amazement, helping me while Oliver struggled to get a strong latch. Once everyone was satisfied, burped and changed, I handed the babies to Justin who laid them down in their bassinet. Finally able to close my eyes, I laid back and sank into the bed. Only to hear Esther’s cries coming from her room.

 

 

 

 

Published by

starletsims

I am an avid simmer and I have been playing sims for years. My blogs are stories containing images taken in the sims 3.

4 thoughts on “1.23 Labor of Love”

Leave a Reply

