1.13 Family Matters

Gen1 Cover~Sabrina’s P.O.V.~

Screenshot-281.jpgI take a long sip of my coffee as I gaze over the ocean. Every day, I’m flabbergasted by the view from our deck. I wait by the phone for the weekly call from Raj. Ever since the incident last month, we checked in with each other weekly. My phone rang, not 5 minutes later, Raj’s voice filling my ears, “Morning, pal” We talked about the random things in our life, until we were getting ready to end the call. His voice grew serious,

“Sabrina, this’ll probably be our last call for awhile. I’m getting ready to move.”

“W-wow…congratulations?”

He laughed, “Don’t worry about me, I’m getting a fresh start with a cousin in Bridgeport. I’ll keep in touch, but you need to be able to move on and start your life. I appreciate every thing you have done for me, more than you can know, but I’m holding you back. You’re a great woman Sabrina, and I will always love you.” He hung up the phone shortly thereafter, leaving me in a peaceful silence. Instead of feeling sad, or hurt like I expected, I felt…….relieved. I could finally get on with my life.

Two Months Later

~Ethan’s P.O.V.~

Screenshot-288I stumbled into the house, accidentally slamming the door behind me. I threw my backpack on the ground, finally noticing my sister in the corner. She stood there watching me curiously, “What’s wrong, bud?” I shrugged, before turning and heading into the kitchen. She didn’t let me get very far. She practically dragged me into her room and pushed me into the chair, “Seriously, Ethan, what’s wrong. You haven’t been yourself lately and now you’re skipping school?”

My head hung low, I surprised myself by breaking into huge gasping sobs. When I could finally speak, I raised my head and met her eyes, “Back at the beginning of the school year, I met this really awesome girl, Quinn. We were together for a little while, but she moved back in with her Dad in Twinbrook over the winter break.” Sabrina cocked her head at me, but I wasn’t finished, “Well a week ago, she moved back in with her mom, because…she’s pregnant. Like really pregnant, Sabs.”

Sabrina opened and closed her mouth, kinda like a fish, before saying, “Wow. Ethan, do you know for sure that it’s your baby?”

I nodded, my face heating up,”It’s mine.”

“Dude, you’re seventeen, how are you going to raise a baby? I’m not saying you can’t, I’m just asking if you’ve thought this through.”

I shrugged, “Well, I’ve been saving up some money,  but it’s not much.”

“So I take you haven’t told Mom and Dad.”

“Nope.”

She sighed, “Okay, well I’ll help you figure out a plan, and maybe talk to Quinn. Then we can tell Mom and Dad together, alright?”

I ran over and gave her a hug, feeling like a lost little kid. I whispered, “Thank you. I’m so glad you’re my sister.”

~Sabrina’s P.O.V.~

3 days after talking with my brother, I made plans to meet with Quinn at the local cafe in town. Ethan had plans to meet up with us later, but I thought it best to start off with just the two of us girls. A little bit early, I grabbed a coffee and waited, my mind racing. I ran through every possible scenario, trying not to form any opinions before I met this girl. I took a deep breath, trying to not come across as judgmental. The bell chimed as the cafe door opened to show a young girl, very pregnant. I stood up and stretched out my hand, “You must be Quinn. I’m Sabrina” Quinn stiffly took my hand, being very careful to keep her guard up, “Yes, I’m Quinn. It’s nice to meet you.”

Screenshot-283I led us to a private corner of the cafe and we made small talk while waiting for our order to arrive. I folded my hands across my lap, before just barreling through the small talk, “Look, there’s no way to avoid the awkwardness here, so I’m just going to come right out and ask you a very blunt question if that’s alright with you,” she nodded, so I pushed on, “How far along are you?”

Her face softened a little, “I’m 36 weeks along, and I’m due in a month.”

I nodded thoughtfully, already regretting the fact that I had to ask this question, “And you’re absolutely sure this baby is Ethan’s? I’m sorry to have to ask this, but I only ask because he’s my baby brother.”

Screenshot-284Instead of growing defensive, or angry, Quinn dropped her head into her hands, “He’s the only guy I’ve ever been with, ma’am.”

I had to stop myself from laughing, “You don’t have to call me ma’am. I want to help you, I just had to make sure your intentions were good.”

Soon after, we were called to our table where our lunch was waiting. A pause filled the air as we both ate. When we were through with our meal, I began to slowly ask her some more questions, “So, do you know whether the baby is a boy or a girl?”

Quinn shook her head, “No, uh… I wanted an abortion, but my mother wouldn’t sign the consent papers.”

I nodded, “So are you having the baby adopted?”

She began to cry, “I want to, but my mother threatened to throw me out if that happens. She wants me to raise this baby.”

Screenshot-287.jpgQuinn stood up angrily, leaning against the table “I can barely take care of myself, and my mother is always working. I don’t even get to see her on the weekends, she travels to Bridgeport to stay with her boyfriend. How am I supposed to raise a baby?”

I wished that I knew her well enough to hug her, but instead I put my arm on her shoulder, “And you didn’t want to stay with your dad?”

She broke down into sobs, so I led her back to the private area where we had first met,. When she had gained her composure she whispered, “He found the pregnancy test I took before I had the chance to tell him. He let me stay with him until the end of the school year, and then he kicked me out, so here I am. “

Screenshot-286

I grabbed her hand, “I don’t know how I can help you, Quinn, but that doesn’t mean I won’t. I’ll give you and Ethan some time to catch up, and I’ll spend the weekend brainstorming. Together, we can work out a plan of action, okay?”

Published by

starletsims

I am an avid simmer and I have been playing sims for years. My blogs are stories containing images taken in the sims 3.

2 thoughts on “1.13 Family Matters”

  1. Bye Raj! 😀 You’re right, you were holding her back.
    Oh man, that’s quite the situation Ethan’s gotten himself into. I wonder how he feels about the whole adoption thing? Would he be willing to take custody of his kid or is he on board with finding a good home for it? Personally, I think that if both Ethan and Quinn are in agreement then they should just go ahead and put the baby up for adoption. Sure, it’s not ideal for her to get kicked out, but no kid should have to grow up with a mother that never wanted them, and there are other options available to help Quinn out.

    Atlas

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

