1.4 Resistance is Futile

gen1-cover

Welcome back! Sorry for the long delay in chapters, I was in the middle of getting the pictures done for this chapter when Sims 4 added toddlers, so of course I had to try it out ;). Totally worth it, I might add. Anywho, on to the chapter.

~Lauryn’s P.O.V~

screenshot-93It had been several weeks since Raj’s violent outburst, but true to his word, he had been nothing but a gentleman afterwards. It took a few days, but my bruises eventually faded.  I contemplated this as I held the multiple positive pregnancy tests in my hands. My eyes could hardly register what they were seeing. If I had any doubts about starting a family with Miguel, they were out the window now. I sat in shock until I heard the front door slam shut. I stood up quickly when I heard Raj stumble around the kitchen, searching for his rum. I met him in the kitchen and could smell the alcohol on his breath. He had been coming home later and later these days,  smelling often of cheap booze. His hands held mine as I poured him a glass. He was luckily too drunk to notice my fingers trembling. I sat next to him on the couch and laid my head on his shoulder, “Bad day, babe?” He tossed back the next shot of rum before nodding, “Very bad day. My partners basically screwed me over in a deal we made with China. He gets 70% of our profits, and I’m being forced out. My own freakin’ company is forcing me out.” I rubbed his neck as his head bent in frustration, “So what are we going to do?” I nearly jumped out of my skin as he threw his glass against the wall and it shattered. He stood up and began pacing, “Exactly. What the hell am I going to do. I have 12 hours to offer some scrap of a deal to China, knowing full well my partner has the upper hand. Or I could sell the rest of my shares before it’s too late.” I nodded, not sure whether I was supposed to actually answer. I pulled his arm and he reluctantly followed me into the bedroom. I helped him undress, kissing him softly.

 

We were awakened by the sun streaming into the bedroom. I was curled up against him., like a perfect puzzle piece. He groaned and covered his eyes with his hand. He was definitely feeling the rum from last night. I snuggled him close before whispering in his ear, “You want some breakfast?” He shook his head, “No, stay in bed with me. I have to go right to work, and I want to stay with you as long as possible.” I blushed before trailing my finger on his chest, “Well, then I have some good news, babe.” He raises an eyebrow and starts to undress me. I chuckled suddenly, “No, honey, not that! I have a surprise for you. I laid back against the headboard and led his hand to my stomach, “We are going to have a baby!” I smiled so wide my cheeks hurt, until I saw the look on his face, or rather the lack thereof. He groaned, “A baby? Now? Right when I’m in the middle of all of this crap at work? You’re sure it’s mine?” I glared at him before storming out of the room, only to have him follow me to the kitchen.

screenshot-78

I yelled at him for the first time since we’d been together, “How can you even ask such a thing? I have been nothing but faithful and good to you! I thought you’d be excited for us, but you ruined a happy moment by being so wrapped up in your own problems! I think I need to take a walk. Don’t wait for me to get back before you leave for work.” I stormed out the front door, not heading anywhere specifically, but definitely needing my space. I walked around the neighborhood until I saw Raj leave for work. I let myself back in and threw myself into cleaning the house. I was interrupted by my phone buzzing. A text from my mom appeared on the screen:Feel like grabbing lunch with me? I jumped up and started cleaning myself up, before replying:Sounds great! TJ’s @ noon?  I called a cab and was on my way shortly.

screenshot-90

Surprise, surprise, my mother had made herself comfortable at the bar. I sat down next to her as she threw back a shot of tequila. It was clearly not her first. I cleared my throat uncomfortably, and gained a sliver of satisfaction when she nearly jumped up in surprise, “Lauryn, I didn’t see you there.” I gave her a quick hug as she ordered me a margarita, “Oh, wait, hold that order, I’ll have a ginger ale.”  She tilted her head quizzically but dismissed it rather easily. We made some wooden small talk, a lifetime of memories)good and bad) between us. My mom sighed heavily, well on her way to becoming very drunk. I picked at my salad, my stomach churning in knots. My mom pushed her plate towards me, “Lauryn, you have to try these garlic fried pickles.” I patted her on the back, “I’m good, Ma, my stomach won’t be able to handle those right now.” Her eyes widened, “I can’t believe I didn’t see it before! You’re pregnant!” I nodded, trying to quiet her down, alcohol always made her louder than normal. I smiled and nodded, finally allowing myself to be excited for this baby. My mom looked at me blankly, not understanding my delight, “What the hell, Lauryn? You little slut. You’ve been out on your own for what…..a few months now, and you’re just a knocked up 18-year-old with no means to support this baby. How could you be so stupid?”

I had tears streaming down my face as I gathered my purse and ran out the door. My mother stumbled after me, until we were in the parking lot. She grabbed my arm with surprising strength and made me face her, “Lauryn, you’ve always been a dreamer, and someone has to show you the harsh reality of the world. You think your father stood by me, a scared 16-year-old, when I got pregnant with you?” I had remained quiet through her entire tirade, but I finally interrupted her, “I am NOTHING like you. This baby will never have to wonder who her father is, never have to go hungry so that mommy can buy herself a six-pack. This baby will never have to sleep on the downstairs couch while mommy ‘entertains’ her next lover. This baby will have a mom who cares about her, and loves to spend time with her. So don’t tell me I’m in no position to be a mother, because my baby’s not even born yet, and I’m already a better mother than you.”

I took off down the block, leaving my mother, and for the first time in my life, I didn’t care if she made it home safe. I made the short walk home, feeling emotionally drained. My nausea forgotten, I crawled back into bed and fell into a fitful sleep. screenshot-88I woke up to the sound of Raj coming in through the front door. He made into his way into the bedroom, an apologetic look on his face. I patted the bed next to me, to let him know he was welcome. He laid next to me and held my hand, “Baby, I am so so sorry, you had every right to be mad at me. While I didn’t appreciate the yelling, I understand why you were mad. I love you, and I can’t wait to start a family with you.” I shook my head, tears flowing freely, I snuggled closer to him, feeling more like a lost little girl than his girlfriend. He held me as I sobbed, stroking my back softly, when I was completely spent, I began to tell him about my mother. Anger flashed across his face, and he held me tighter, “She wont come near this baby, okay?” He placed his hands on my stomach, and we talked long into the night about our hopes and dreams for this baby.

Published by

starletsims

I am an avid simmer and I have been playing sims for years. My blogs are stories containing images taken in the sims 3.

3 thoughts on “1.4 Resistance is Futile”

  1. You know, I always find myself on edge when I read these chapters. Which is awesome! I love when a story does that. And this chapter was no different. There are so many emotions happening right now, you don’t even know. I’m excited for the new baby, worried about what this means for Lauryn, and ticked off at her mom.
    Excuse me as I commence biting my nails until the next chapter.

    Atlas

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just don’t know what to think, but somehow her mother is right. Raj is such an unpredictable guy, who is also violent and then apologizes, I don’t trust him. I worry about the Lauryn and baby’s future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

